# **Public Document Pack**



To: Chair and Members of the County

Council

Date: 19 February 2020

Direct Dial: 01824706141

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

#### **Dear Councillor**

I refer to this agenda for the meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 25 FEBRUARY 2020 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN LL15 1YN and enclose the following supplemental report(s).

# Agenda Item No

# **4 MINUTES** (Pages 3 - 4)

To receive the minutes of County Council (copy attached) held on 19 November, 2019.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal and Democratic Services

# **MEMBERSHIP**

#### Councillors

**Hugh Irving** 

Mabon ap Gwynfor
Brian Blakeley
Joan Butterfield
Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones
Ellie Chard
Ann Davies
Gareth Davies
Meirick Davies
Hugh Evans
Peter Evans
Bobby Feeley
Rachel Flynn
Tony Flynn
Huw Hilditch-Roberts
Martyn Holland

Christine Marston
Barry Mellor
Melvyn Mile
Bob Murray
Merfyn Parry
Paul Penlington
Pete Prendergast
Arwel Roberts
Anton Sampson
Peter Scott
Glenn Swingler
Andrew Thomas
Rhys Thomas
Tony Thomas
Julian Thompson-Hill

Julian Thompson-Hill Graham Timms

Alan James
Brian Jones
Pat Jones
Tina Jones
Gwyneth Kensler
Geraint Lloyd-Williams
Richard Mainon

Joe Welch Cheryl Williams David Williams Eryl Williams Huw Williams Emrys Wynne Mark Young

# **COPIES TO:**

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils

#### **COUNTY COUNCIL**

Minutes of a meeting of the County Council held in the Council Chamber, County Hall, Ruthin LL15 1YN on Tuesday, 19 November 2019 at 2.00 pm.

#### **PRESENT**

Councillors Brian Blakeley, Joan Butterfield, Ellie Chard, Ann Davies, Gareth Davies, Meirick Davies (Chair), Hugh Evans, Peter Evans, Bobby Feeley, Huw Hilditch-Roberts, Martyn Holland, Hugh Irving, Alan James (Vice-Chair), Brian Jones, Pat Jones, Gwyneth Kensler, Richard Mainon, Barry Mellor, Bob Murray, Arwel Roberts, Anton Sampson, Peter Scott, Andrew Thomas, Tony Thomas, Julian Thompson-Hill, Graham Timms, Joe Welch, Cheryl Williams and Emrys Wynne

### **ALSO PRESENT**

Chief Executive (JG), Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services (GW), Strategic HR Manager (CR), and Committee Administrator (SLW)

#### 1 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mabon ap Gwynfor, Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones, Rachel Flynn, Tony Flynn, Huw Jones, Tina Jones, Geraint Lloyd-Williams, Christine Marston, Merfyn Parry, Pete Prendergast, Glenn Swingler, Rhys Thomas, David Williams and Eryl Williams

# 2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillor Joe Welch declared a personal interest in item 3 of the agenda as he and the candidate were members of the same running club.

# 3 APPOINTMENT OF THE HEAD OF FINANCE AND PROPERTY

The Council's recruitment adviser reported on the recruitment process undertaken which had resulted in a number of applications and a shortlist of candidates being taken through an assessment process. Members were advised that a Special Appointments' Panel of councillors had identified one candidate who was potentially suitable for appointing, and who had been invited to attend the Council meeting today.

The candidate gave a presentation to Council and responded to a series of questions from the members.

After the candidate had left the Chamber members discussed the presentation, responses to the questions and his performance during the assessment process.

RESOLVED – that Steve Gadd be appointed to the post of Head of Finance and Property.

